Preparing Responsibly

Posted: June 14, 2008 in Jesus on Judgment
Tags: , , , , , ,

Living with the end in view involves
Preparing Responsibly

Then the kingdom of heaven shall be likened to ten virgins who took their lamps and went out to meet the bridegroom. Now five of them were wise, and five were foolish. Those who were foolish took their lamps and took no oil with them, but the wise took oil in their vessels with their lamps. (Matt. 25:1–4)

The parable of the ten virgins introduces us to two types of people in a single group, half wise and half foolish. Is it possible a Christian can be foolish? Jesus said so: “Now everyone who hears these sayings of Mine, and does not do them, will be like a foolish man who built his house on the sand” (Matt. 7:26). I would be foolish if I ignore the words of Christ that are to give me life and build a strong foundation. Similarly, my son would be foolish to disregard my warning about looking both ways before crossing the street.

Paul said so: “Are you so foolish? Having begun in the Spirit, are you now being made perfect by the flesh?” (Gal. 3:3). I would be foolish if I let laws, rules, and regulations take the place of the direction of the Holy Spirit. I would be foolish if I decided I no longer needed to read my Bible because I have the Ten Commandments on my bookmark to follow.

The above three passages show us that when we are spiritually irresponsible, we are being foolish. The foolish are losing something of great value because they do not recognize that what they are doing has spiritual consequences. When we have a relationship with God, all things take on a new significance:

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. Now all things are of God, who has reconciled us to Himself through Jesus Christ, and has given us the ministry of reconciliation. (2 Cor. 5:17–18)

I can no longer see the day’s activities the same way as before I knew the Lord—they’ve “become new.” Now I see God involved in the activities I do and the situations I face. He wants to use the day to instill wisdom in me—to love Him, strengthen my faith in trials, and consider how I might go out to the lost. “All things are of God,” so I am not to partition my life into religious and secular areas. All things are useful to train me for His return. “So teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom” (Ps. 90:12).

The wise know the leading of the Spirit; the foolish substitute static rules and regulations to guide their conduct. Sometimes I go over the day with the Lord, praying for His protection, help, and guidance for what is coming up. If I can’t be ready to meet the day as someone who is dependent on Him, how can I be ready when He comes in His glory? If I willingly serve Him who loved me, I have all the oil I need.

Living with the end in view means to use each day for Him.

Steps of faith:
Consider if you are observing rules instead of following the Word.
Pray for wisdom for day’s activities and trials.

–Steve Husting

Selection from Living with the End in View, Book 1, Steve Husting

Leave a Reply

