Employing Your Gifts

Posted: June 14, 2008 in Jesus on Judgment
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Living with the end in view involves
Employing Your Gifts

For the kingdom of heaven is like a man traveling to a far country, who called his own servants and delivered his goods to them. And to one he gave five talents, to another two, and to another one, to each according to his own ability; and immediately he went on a journey.

Then he who had received the five talents went and traded with them, and made another five talents. And likewise he who had received two gained two more also. But he who had received one went and dug in the ground, and hid his lord’s money.

After a long time the lord of those servants came and settled accounts with them. (Matt. 25:14–19)

An article appeared in World magazine emphasizing the importance of calling, of vocation. It noted that a political talk show, “The John McEnroe Show,” was rated dead last in a television rating system. The article noted that John was a world-class tennis player, but his lousy hosting proved that he had missed his calling.

I remember volunteering in church for everything that came up because I did not know what the Lord wanted me to do. I tried street witnessing, door-to-door evangelism, open-air preaching, children’s ministry, setting up chairs, and cleaning the kitchen and bathrooms. All gave me valuable lessons of servanthood that have stayed with me, though none were my calling in the church.

I wasn’t to find my calling to write until around fifteen years after I received Christ. Now I try to hone my writing skills. I’ve read around fifty books on writing and editing fiction and nonfiction, read about the business of writing and publishing, taken a course on writing, and, of course, I put it all into action by writing articles that are published.

Why do I try so hard to develop my writing ability? Because I count myself as a servant employed by Jesus Christ. He has gone to a far country, heaven, and will return to receive an accounting of my life. Living with the end in view, I prepare by making the most of my calling. I have a calling as a husband and father, so I prepare in those areas as well. I also have a calling to be holy, which means to set aside me and my gifts for the Master’s use.

What is the best way to present ourselves to God that we may learn His purpose for our lives, and give an accounting with joy? Serve the Lord in whatever situation you find yourself. The many situations in which I found myself offered lessons I would put into action later when the Lord revealed His purpose for me.

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. (Rom. 12:1–2)

Living with the end in view means to perform your ordinary tasks as your service to the Lord.

Steps of faith:
Pray for His will regarding your primary service or gift.
Address any hesitations you have about serving.

–Steve Husting

Selection from Living with the End in View, Book 1, Steve Husting

Leave a Reply

